terça-feira, 15 de abril de 2014

Sem Tradução

O Sem Tradução de hoje não traz um livro mas sim uma trilogia, isto porque nenhum dos livros foi editado em Portugal e achei que não faria sentido mencionar apenas um...

Títulos: Regeneration Trilogy - Regeneration, The Eye in the Door e The Ghost Road
Autor: Pat Barker
Origem: Inglaterra
Ano da edição original: 1991, 1993 e 1995
Editora: Viking Press
Páginas: 288, 280 e 288
Língua original: Inglês
ISBN: 0-670-82876-9, 0-670-84414-4 e 0-670-85489-1

Sinopses: The Regeneration Trilogy is a series of three novels by Pat Barker on the subject of the First World War. In 2012, The Observer named it as one of "The 10 best historical novels"

Regeneration - In 1917 Siegfried Sasson, noted poet and decorated war hero, publicly refused to continue serving as a British officer in World War I. His reason: the war was a senseless slaughter. He was officially classified "mentally unsound" and sent to Craiglockhart War Hospital. There a brilliant psychiatrist, Dr. William Rivers, set about restoring Sassoon's "sanity" and sending him back to the trenches. This novel tells what happened as only a novel can. It is a war saga in which not a shot is fired. It is a story of a battle for a man's mind in which only the reader can decide who is the victor, who the vanquished, and who the victim.

The Eye in the Door - London, 1918. Billy Prior is working for Intelligence in the Ministry of Munitions. But his private encounters with women and men - pacifists, objectors, homosexuals - conflict with his duties as a soldier, and it is not long before his sense of himself fragments and breaks down. Forced to consult the man who helped him before - army psychiatrist William Rivers - Prior must confront his inability to be the dutiful soldier his superiors wish him to be ...

The Ghost Road - 1918, the closing months of the war. Army psychiatrist William Rivers is increasingly concerned for the men who have been in his care - particularly Billy Prior, who is about to return to combat in France with young poet Wilfred Owen. As Rivers tries to make sense of what, if anything, he has done to help these injured men, Prior and Owen await the final battles in a war that has decimated a generation ...

O autor e a obra: Pat Barker é uma autora inglesa cujos livros se focam principalmente em temas como a memória, trauma, sobrevivência e recuperação. Tem 12 romances editados dos quais apenas 2 se encontram traduzidos para português: Um outro mundo (Ulisseia, 2002) e Barreira invisível (Ulisseia, 2003). Com esta trilogia a autora ganhou diversos prémios, incluindo o Booker Prize de 1995.

Sem comentários:

Enviar um comentário

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


2666 - www.wook.pt

1Q84 - www.wook.pt

Wolf Hall - www.wook.pt

Na whislist

O Revisor - www.wook.pt

A Escriba - www.wook.pt